

Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Agenda April 30, 2019

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

- 1. Call to Order General Assembly Meeting—6:00pm Peter Miller
- 2. Introduction of Senators (2 min.)
- 3. Graduate College Report (5 min.)
- 4. Graduate Student Representative for CLAS Graduate Educational Policy Committee (GEPC) Associate Dean Getz (5 min.)
- 5. Reports
 - a. **President Report** KaLeigh White (2 min.)
 - b. Vice President Report Ryan Stoldt (1 min.)
 - c. **COGS Report** Inga Popovaite (1 min.)
 - d. Graduate Student Employment Committee Report (1 min.)
 - e. Graduate Council Report (1 min.)
 - f. **GPSG Delegates Report** (1 min.)
 - g. Brief Committee Reports (2 min.)
 - i. Graduate Student Success Committee Elliot Burghardt & Ellen Kiser
 - ii. Graduate Student Teaching Committee Sydney Skuodas
 - iii. International Student Committee Anup Poudel
 - iv. Service and Social Committee Gurjap Singh
 - v. Travel Funds Committee Jennie Yujia Liu & Amanda Adams

6. Old Business

- a. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes (1 min.) KaLeigh White
- b. Constitutional Changes (2 min.) Peter Miller

7. New Business

- a. Final Call for Nominations (2 min.)
- b. Elections (20 min.)
 - i. President
 - 1. Christian Bako
 - ii. Vice President
 - 1. Christian Bako
 - 2. Evan Krasner
 - iii. Treasurer
 - 1. Evan Krasner
 - 2. Jennie Liu
 - iv. Membership & Publicity Officer
 - 1. Evan Krasner
 - v. Executive Associate
 - 1. Adam Wood
 - vi. Parliamentarian
 - 1. Peter Miller
 - vii. Graduate Council
 - 1. Fine Arts & Humanities
 - a. Emma Gabriele
 - 2. Social Sciences & Education
 - a. KaLeigh White
 - 3. Biological & Medical Sciences
 - a. Kody Waldstein



Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Agenda April 30, 2019

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

- 4. Physical, Mathematical, & Engineering Sciences
 - a. Adam Wood

viii. GPSG Delegates

- 1. Fine Arts & Humanities
 - a. Evan Krasner
- 2. Social Sciences & Education
 - a. Vacant
- 3. Biological & Medical Sciences
 - a. Ellen Kiser
- 4. Physical, Mathematical, & Engineering Sciences
 - a. Anup Poudel

8. Year Wrap-Up

- a. Year in Review (5 min.)
- b. Recognition of Outstanding Senators (5 min.)
- 9. Committee Discussions on Diversity Equity & Inclusion (DEI) (5 mins.)
- **10. Open Floor** (As time allows)
- 11. Adjournment 7:00 PM
- 12. Officer / Senator Transition Discussions

Announcements

- a. Next Travel Funds Application Deadline May 3rd, 2019
 - i. The next <u>GSS Travel Fund application</u> deadline is May 3rd, 2019 by 11:59 PM. This round of applications is for conferences occurring between Jan. 1, 2019 and June 30, 2019.
- b. GSS Cortado Coffee Break MWF during Finals Week (2:30-3:30pm)
 - i. Do you like coffee? Do you like cookies? Do you like meeting graduate students from other departments? If so, please join GSS at Cortado Coffee & Café (26 S. Clinton Street) for a "coffee-break" for ALL graduate students. Coffee and cookies will be available for free from 2:30-3:30 on May 6th, 8th, and 10th. Check out and share the <u>Facebook event!</u>



Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Agenda April 30, 2019

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

2018-2019 Graduate Student Senate **Roster of Elected Positions**

Executive Officers:

President Vice President Treasurer **Executive Associate** Membership/PR Officer Parliamentarian

GPSG Delegates:

Graduate Council:

KaLeigh White Ryan Stoldt Lyndsey DuBose Christian Bako Caroline Cheung Peter Miller

> Elliot Burghardt Andrew Tubbs KaLeigh White Inga Popovaite Gurjap Singh

Jenny Verniero KaLeigh White Josh Bock

Emma Gabriele

Webmaster: Ryan Tribble

kaleigh-white@uiowa.edu ryan-stoldt@uiowa.edu lyndsey-dubose@uiowa.edu christian-bako@uiowa.edu caroline-cheung@uiowa.edu peter-miller@uiowa.edu

elliot-burghardt@uiowa.edu andrew-tubbs@uiowa.edu kaleigh-white@uiowa.edu inga-popovaite@uiowa.edu gurjap-singh@uiowa.edu

emma-gabriele@uiowa.edu iennifer-verniero@uiowa.edu kaleigh-white@uiowa.edu josh-bock@uiowa.edu

ryan-tribble@uiowa.edu

Roster of Appointed Positions

Committee Chairs:

Graduate Success Committee Graduate Teaching Committee International Students Committee Jakobsen Conference Committee Service and Social Committee Travel Funds Committee

Elliot Burghardt Sydney Skuodas Anup Poudel Ryan Stoldt Gurjap Singh Jennie Yuiia Liu Amanda Adams

elliot-burghardt@uiowa.edu sydney-skuodas@uiowa.edu anup-poudel@uiowa.edu ryan-stoldt@uiowa.edu gurjap-singh@uiowa.edu vuiia-liu@uiowa.edu amanda-adams@uiowa.edu