

Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Minutes May 5, 2020

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

- 1. Call to Order General Assembly Meeting—6:00pm Peter Miller
- 2. Graduate College Updates Dean John Keller
 - a. Thank you for all of the work that you have done to deal with the situation this semester
 - b. Take care of yourself
 - c. Moving forward
 - Many committees are working on plans to return to some sort of normalcy in the Fall
 - ii. The Graduate College is aware of the challenges that graduate students face
 - iii. The Graduate College has allocated more summer fellowships than they ever have before
 - iv. Plans to address certain categories of financial issues
 - 1. Students who are entering the job market
 - 2. Summer support
 - 3. Students who need to extend the time it takes to graduate due to difficulty of research this semester
 - v. Instructed to come up with many different scenarios for budget next year
 - vi. Not a lot of details yet
 - vii. Emphasis is to help students and programs as much as possible
 - viii. We have to wait a little bit longer to figure out how to get back
 - ix. All of summer instruction is online
 - x. Trying to figure out various plans for the Fall
 - xi. The Graduate College has made many of the policies relating to graduate education flexible, for example, comprehensive exams, thesis and dissertations exams, etc.
 - xii. See Graduate College FAQs (https://www.grad.uiowa.edu/coronavirus/faqs) for more information

3. Old Business

- a. Additional nominations
- b. No additional nominations

4. New Business

- a. Elections
 - i. Executive Council
 - 1. President
 - a. John Piegors
 - b. Elected
 - 2. Vice President
 - a. Kody Waldstein
 - b. Elected
 - 3. Treasurer
 - a. Emma Gabriele
 - b. Elected
 - 4. Membership Officer
 - a. Barbara Kagima nominated self
 - b. Elected
 - 5. Executive Associate
 - a. No nominations at the meeting



Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Minutes May 5, 2020

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

- b. Jessica DeYoung nominated self after the meeting
- c. Adriana Rivera-Dompenciel nominated self after the meeting
- d. Will be voted on in the Fall
- 6. Parliamentarian
 - a. Vacant, will be filled in the Fall
- 7. Social Media Manager
 - a. Laura Stephens
 - b. Elected

ii. Grad Council

- 1. Fine Arts & Humanities
 - a. Emma Gabriele
 - b. Elected
- 2. Social Sciences & Education
 - a. Vacant
 - b. Will be filled by John Piegors
- 3. Biological & Medical Sciences
 - a. Kody Waldstein
 - b. Elected
- 4. Physical, Mathematical, and Engineering Sciences
 - a. Jessica DeYoung
 - b. Elected

iii. GPSG Delegates

- 1. Fine Arts & Humanities
 - a. Emma Gabriele
 - b. Elected
- 2. Social Sciences & Education
 - a. Chris Sherrod
 - b. Elected
- 3. Biological & Medical Sciences
 - a. Nathan Parizek
 - b. Elected
- 4. Physical, Mathematical, and Engineering Sciences
 - a. Moala Bannavti
 - b. Elected

iv. Graduate Student Employment Committee (GSEC; two vacancies)

- 1. Appointment #1 of 5
 - a. Vacant, will fill in the Fall
- 2. Appointment #2 of 5
 - a. Vacant, will fill in the Fall

v. Appointed Positions

Webmaster

b. Positions to be filled in the Fall

- i. Executive Associate
- ii. Parliamentarian
- iii. GSEC (two vacancies)
- iv. Webmaster

5. Adjournment - 7:00 PM



Graduate Student Senate General Assembly Meeting Minutes May 5, 2020

The University of Iowa Graduate College 205 Gilmore Hall Iowa City, IA 52241 (319) 335-3260

2019-2020 Graduate Student Senate

Roster of Elected Positions

Executive Officers:

President Vice President Treasurer Executive Associate Membership/PR Officer Parliamentarian

GPSG Delegates:

Graduate Council:

Webmaster:

Committee Chairs:

Graduate Success Committee Graduate Teaching Committee International Students Committee Jakobsen Conference Committee Service and Social Committee

Travel Funds Committee

Christian Bako Kody Waldstein Jennie Liu Adam Wood Caroline Cheung Peter Miller

Ellen Kiser Anup Poudel Adam Wood Rachel Maller

Emma Gabriele Kody Waldstein KaLeigh White Christian Bako

Sarah Kelly

christian-bako@uiowa.edu kody-waldstein@uiowa.edu yujia-liu@uiowa.edu adam-wood@uiowa.edu caroline-cheung@uiowa.edu peter-miller@uiowa.edu

ellen-kiser@uiowa.edu anup-poudel@uiowa.edu adam-wood@uiowa.edu rachel-maller@uiowa.edu

emma-gabriele@uiowa.edu kody-waldstein@uiowa.edu kaleigh-white@uiowa.edu christian-bako@uiowa.edu

sarah-m-kelly@uiowa.edu

Roster of Appointed Positions

Jessica DeYoung Sohyun Kim Kody Waldstein Guadalupe Munoz Rocha Rachel Maller Amanda Adams Jennie Liu

jessica-deyoung@uiowa.edu sohyun-kim-1@uiowa.edu kody-waldstein@uiowa.edu guadalupe-munoz@uiowa.edu rachel-maller@uiowa.edu amanda-adams-1@uiowa.edu yujia-liu@uiowa.edu