University of Iowa – Graduate Student Senate General Assembly

April 2nd, 2024 at 5:30 pm (UCC 2520D)

- 1. Call to order 17:33
- 2. Approval of March Minutes voted on and approved!
- 3. Graduate College Updates
 - a. Dean Getz no specific updates
- 4. Executive Council Reports
 - a. President- Karley Monaghan
 - b. Vice President- Mekhla Singhania
 - c. Treasurer- Soheil Hosseini
 - d. Executive Associate-Stuti Gupta
 - e. Membership Officer- Jordan Ismaiel
 - f. Parliamentarian- Valeria Cota
 - g. Webmaster- Kyleakin Helm-Kwasny
 - h. Social Media Director- Hannah Nennig
 - i. Travel Funds Director- Emese Kovacs
- 5. COGS Update- John Tappen
 - a. Make sure your contract is sent to you by April 15th and that you have a 3% raise
- 6. GPSG Update
 - a. Last meeting they did elections.
 - b. Voted to change GPSG constitution, getting rid of Robert's rules.
 - c. Mason filled an executive order to transfer to some of the member governments from GPAC.
 - d. GPAC might be restructuring their allocations for next year
- 7. Committee Updates
 - a. Graduate Teaching- Joey Small
 - b. International Student- Stuti Gupta
 - i. International Cultural Fest on April 26th from 5:30-8:30 pm
 - c. Jakobsen- Mekhla Singhania
 - i. Good turnout, great presentations!
 - d. Social and Service- Valeria Cota and Hannah Nennig
 - i. Friday Night Vibes this Friday from 5-9 pm
 - ii. Jakobsen awards to go out that night.
 - iii. Wednesday from 9-11 am: Grad student appreciation in Gilmore Hall 4th floor for coffee
 - iv. Friday, 9-11 am in MERF also for coffee.
 - e. Travel Funds- Brooke Yeager
 - i. <u>Degree-related travel</u> to be renamed to **thesis/dissertation travel**. Can be funded once during your time as a Grad student.
 - ii. Accepting applications for final cycle from April 1- June 30, 2024. Deadline is April 8th, 2024.
 - iii. For reference, fiscal Year is July 1st-June 30th.
- 8. ELECTIONS no. of nominations and final elected officials

- a. **President** 1 nomination
 - i. Kyleakin Helm-Kwasny
- b. Vice President 2 nominations
 - i. Joey Small
- c. Treasurer 3 nominations
 - i. Stuti Gupta
- d. Travel Funds Director 2 nominations
 - i. Brooke Yeager
- e. Executive Associate 3 nominations
 - i. Hee Kyoung Jung
- f. Parliamentarian 3 nominations
 - i. Caleb Dewitt
- g. Membership Officer 4 nominations
 - i. Priyanka Newase
- h. Webmaster 3 nominations
 - i. Sabrina Ahmed
- i. Social Media Manager 1 nomination
 - i. Kshitija Kale
- j. Graduate Council (4) 4 nominations, 3 elected, 1 automatic
 - i. Physical, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences Caleb Dewitt
 - ii. Biological and Medical Sciences Kyleakin Helm-Kwasny (automatic)
 - iii. Social Sciences and Education Nicole Tennessen
 - iv. Fine Arts and Humanities Mansoor Golpour
- k. GPSG Delegates (6) 5 nominations, 5 elected, 1 automatic
 - i. Physical, mathematical and Engineering Sciences Soheil Hosseini
 - ii. Social Science Mavis Gyesi
 - iii. Biological Sciences Kshitija Kale
 - iv. Arts and Humanities Mansoor Golpour
 - v. At Large 1 Travis Fisher
 - vi. At Large 2 Kyleakin Helm-Kwasny (automatic)
- I. **GSEC Delegates (3)** 3 nominations, 3 elected
 - i. Avery Van de Water
 - ii. Kshitija Kale
 - iii. Stuti Gupta
- 9. End the Fees petition
- 10. Adjournment 19:08