Jakobsen Memorial Conference 2016 (Archived)

The 18th Annual Jakobsen Memorial Conference, in conjunction with the 3 Minute Thesis final contest, was held on Saturday, March 26th 2016 at the Iowa Memorial Union.

Our theme was: "Building Bridges, Breaking Barriers"

Check out our Facebook and Twitter pages.

View the 2016 Conference program .

Congratulations to All our Award Winners

Biological and Health Sciences

  1. Namita Sawant
  2. Ahn-Vu Do, Claire Doskey
  3. Mgbechi Erondu

Creative Works

  1. Bogi Takacs

Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies

  1. Marija Reiff
  2. Jessica Pleyel


  1. Kelly Budruweit
  2. Subin Paul
  3. Hyungrae Noh

Mathematics, Physical, and Engineering Sciences

  1. Katherine Peter
  2. James Tipton
  3. Mohsen Ghamari

Social Sciences and Education

  1. Elizabeth Follmer
  2. Ariana Shahnazi
  3. Arianna Rigon

Other Professionals

  1. Lindsey Greco
  2. Patrick Bigsby

The James F. Jakobsen Graduate Conference was established in 1998 (known at that time as the Jakobsen Forum) and is an event unique to the University of Iowa. Thanks to generous contributions from the Jakobsen family, the Graduate College, and local businesses, the Graduate Student Senate is once again able to provide this exciting opportunity for graduate students to present their research.

Held each Spring semester, the Jakobsen Conference provides a well-attended public forum for oral and poster presentations. The Jakobsen committee has experienced yearly growth in Conference participation and attendance, and we anticipate the same trend for the future.

Browse the pages on the left for more detailed conference information. The conference committee welcomes any questions or concerns you may have. Feel free to direct these to the Submissions Co-Chairs: Maria Morabe (marialiana-morabe@uiowa.edu) and Stephanie Kupfer (stephanie-kupfer@uiowa.edu).

This year the Jakobsen Conference is proud to partner with Three Minute Thesis (3MT). More information about this competition.

Thank you and we'll see you at the conference!

Check out our abstract archive from 2003-2014. (Abstracts from 2015).